2017 MASS Executive Institute Schedule Released


The theme of our 23rd Annual Executive Institute of 2017 is Leading and Creating Inclusive Schools: All Means All.

This year marks our 23rd year offering the very best of Professional Development with dynamic programs and selected presenters.

In 1994 our Executive Institutes began at Falmouth High School working closely with school officials until renovations began with the school resulting in the invitation to go to Mashpee High School, just a few miles down the road.

Our keynote presenters have been selected for their quality presentations and great inspiration to school leaders.

Over the 23 years, our M.A.S.S. Professional Development Committee in cooperation with M.A.S.S. staff have organized and produced this expansive three day conference.

This year, we are proud to present three outstanding keynote speakers which will speak from their point of view on this year’s theme.

Our Wednesday keynote speaker, Chad Hymas, is a bestselling author, recognized as a world-class wheelchair athlete and rated by the Wall Street Journal as one of the ten most inspirational people in the world.

David Gergen, Thursday’s keynote speaker, is co-director or the Center for Public Leadership at the Harvard’s Kennedy School, serves as a senior political analyst for CNN and a former presidential advisor.

Michele Gay, our final keynote speaker, is the Co-founder and Executive Director of Safe and Sound: A Sandy Hook Initiative. Following the tragic loss of her daughter, Josephine, in the Sandy Hook School tragedy, Michele joined Sandy Hook mother Alissa Parker to establish Safe and Sound Schools as a national resource for school safety.

The intent of the M.A.S.S. Professional Development Committee is to present a quality program and speakers, up to date topical panels, time for informal gatherings, an opportunity to visit some solid supporting sponsors and refreshing evenings on the shores of Cape Cod. Past presenters have also included most state government leaders and numerous national speakers. Supporting this three day Institute have been between 60 to 100 education related sponsors to arrange evening events for members and their families to attend and enjoy.

The formal programs that run from 8:30am until 4:00pm include panels and workshops that focus on the issues of the day plus some optional Tuesday afternoon sessions with a vital remedial school finance consult and a school issues tutorial. There will also be a special 3:00-4:00pm session on Tuesday for Rural Superintendents.

While structured program time takes place during the day and evening events are on the schedule, this is a unique opportunity to enjoy the Falmouth and Mashpee area and evening rides down route 6A or 28 with restaurants, points of historic interest and water views on all sides.

On Thursday, longtime members recognize the Daoulas Award, established by the Professional Development Committee in 1997. The award is named after the late Dr. Christos Daoulas, former longtime Superintendent of Schools in the Town of Dracut and for years called the “Dean” of the Massachusetts Superintendents for his decades of service. This award is presented to a superintendent who has provided outstanding services especially in the use of the written and spoken words. The individual selected will address the Mid-Winter Conference of M.A.S.S. in January.

Following are the recipients of that award in the past:

1997 – Irwin Blumer, Newton Superintendent of Schools

1998 – Robert Antonucci, Massachusetts Commissioner of Education

1999 – Peter Finn, M.A.S.S. Executive Director

2000 – Paul Andrews, M.A.S.S. Director of Professional Development and Government Services

2001 – Joseph Buckley, Bedford Superintendent of Schools and Gerald Croteau, Taunton Superintendent of Schools

2002 – Patricia Martin, Auburn Superintendent of Schools

2003 – Shelley Berman, Hudson Superintendent of Schools

2004 – All Superintendents in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts

2005 – William Erickson, Hampshire Regional Superintendent of Schools

2006 – Louis Amadio, M.A.S.S. Director of Retirement and Membership Services

2007 – Rosemary Joseph, Northborough-Southborough Regional Superintendent of Schools

2008 – Michael Fitzpatrick, Blackstone Valley Voc. Reg. School District Superintendent-Director

2009 – Thomas Scott, M.A.S.S. Executive Director

2010 – Christine McGrath, Tewksbury Superintendent of Schools

2012 – Karla Brooks Baehr, Deputy Commissioner of Education for the Commonwealth of Massachusetts and David Tobin, M.A.S.S. Finance Consultant

2013 – Margaret Frieswyk, Avon Superintendent of Schools

2014 – Anthony Bent, Shrewsbury Superintendent of Schools

2015 – Mary Czajkowski, Barnstable Superintendent of Schools

2016 – Paul Dakin, Revere Superintendent of Schools

Our hopes are that the programs being presented will help our Executive Institute attendees to understand some issues and resolutions to meet our theme of Leading and Creating Inclusive Schools: All Means All

Our Thanks,

Paul J. Andrews, M.A.S.S. Director of Professional Development and Government Services

Thomas A. Scott, M.A.S.S. Executive Director

Christine McGrath, M.A.S.S. Director of Operations

Patricia Martin, M.A.S.S. Director of Technology

John Doherty, Chair, M.A.S.S. Professional Development Committee

Julie Hackett, M.A.S.S. President


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Start Your Search